Weekly Reads 12

This week was not a week for reading. It was a week for holding on for dear life and just hoping that I could make it to Spring Break. I did make it to Spring Break–even though someone pulled the fire alarm five minutes before school let out on Friday, and I am currently feeling relaxed and ready for the week ahead. It’s really weird to feel that on a Sunday night. Normally, on Sunday nights, I feel scared and stressed, so I am kind of unsure of how to handle myself right now.

This week, when I wasn’t grading or pulling my hair out, I read the second book in the Lunar Chronicles series. I talked about the first book, Cinder, a couple of weeks ago, but I didn’t get to the second book until now.

The second book is called, Scarlet, and it was just as good as the first.

Scarlet

If you remember my review of Cinder, you’ll remember that this is a very loosely based Cinderella story. But, instead of Cinder being a lonely, beautiful orphan, she is a cyborg living in a futuristic society. In the first book, Cinder has to deal with a plague and meeting the handsome Crown Prince named Kai.

The second book is more intense, but honestly, I don’t want to tell you anything because I can’t ruin the series for you. All I will say is that this book introduced two new characters, Scarlet and Wolf. These, again, are very loosely based on fairy tale characters. Scarlet, in her red hoodie, is kind of like Little Red Riding Hood, and Wolf, obviously, is like the Wolf. There parts of the story were really interesting–Wolf is a crazy intense fighter, and Scarlet knows how to drive a spaceship, and she is on a quest to save her grandmother who has been kidnapped.

Cinder is obviously still a part of this story, but she deals mostly with a quest for identity and making peace with the things she finds out about her past.

Once you read the books, all of my vague talking will make sense. And, then, you can write me an e-mail, and we will exclaim about the action together!

Seriously-even if you don’t like science-fiction-y stuff, you’ll really like this series! I am about to start the third one, and I can’t wait! Give it a try–you won’t regret it!

 

Leave a Reply

