Weekly Reads 10

Did you know that Danny and I lived in Arkansas for a summer? It was an interesting time in our marriage, and it was a grand adventure that we think back on fondly. There were hard times–we didn’t have our own kitchen for cooking meals, our car broke down several times, and finally, we were separated from a good library system. The library in our small town was fine, but it had a lot of old books. That summer, I was dying to read The Helpย and The Book Thief, but they weren’t in stock. I ended up getting to read The Help because Danny spilled coffee all over it while we were looking at a bookstore, but I had to wait a while to read The Book Thief. Also, that summer, I became obsessed with reading this book, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. It was this new mystery series that was reported to be really good, and the title was weird, so it sounded interesting to me. Additionally, the main character is a little girl named Flavia, and the whole series is set in England in the early 1950s. That time period is kind of my jam.

I think I got the book for my birthday, and I loved it. Flavia is a pre-teen who is obsessed with chemistry and making poisons, and she uses her nosiness and ability to make potions and experiments to solve crimes. She also has a bicycle named Gertrude. Could it get any better than that?

This week, I read the 6th book in the series, The Dead in their Vaulted Arches.

Alan Bradley

This book was a little different than the others in that it was more about Flavia’s family life and not so much about her solving a murder in the town. In the beginning of the series, we find that Flavia’s mother has gone missing, and in this story, we figure out more about her disappearance. It ended with an interesting twist, so I am excited for the next one to come out.

This wasn’t my favorite Flavia mystery, simply because it wasn’t filled with very much excitement and mystery solving, but I still like reading about her.

I also read the book, Pioneer Girl.

This book is all about Laura Ingalls Wilder and her daughter Rose and a modern day Vietnamese-American lady named Lee. I thought that this book was a memoir, until I read the acknowledgements page, so that made for interesting reading. In the story, Lee’s character has a pin that may or may not have belonged to Laura Ingalls Wilder, and she visits one of the Wilder museums and steals a book and some notes, so I was really concerned and fascinated throughout the story–especially since I believed this was a true tale. When I figured out it was a novel, I was a little bit disappointed, but I still enjoyed the story.

What are you guys reading these days? Any good suggestions?

Leave a Reply

