Just call me a celebrity magnet

In my short life, and while living in rural Ohio, I have had several encounters with celebrities. First, when Danny and I were first married, we visited our local Caribou Coffee, and while we were waiting in line, a very tan, very dark haired man walked through the door. I looked him, thinking he looked familiar, and when I looked again, I knew for sure that he was famous. After looking for a third time, I knew that he was Rob Lowe. Fortunately for him, we saw him before we obsessively watched “The West Wing,” and before he ended up on “Parks and Recreation.” I say fortunately for him because, had we seen him after we knew him on those shows, Danny probably would have hugged him and wept in his neck. That would have been awkward. 

Another time, while visiting my brother in Philadelphia, I bumped into Natalie Portman on the street. She was very, very small. 

And today, while looking around at the outlet mall that is located in Jeffersonville, Ohio, I ran into another celebrity. I walked into J Crew, just wanting to buy Danny a pair of socks when I noticed the perfectly coifed and really tan Carson Kressley. Do you guys remember him from “Queer Eye for the Straight Guy” and “Dancing with the Stars?” It was really weird seeing him, not because I am a huge fan or something, but because the minute I saw him, I immediately felt silly. I looked down at my outfit, wondering if I fit into the typical stereotype of middle America. It was just a weird situation all around. And, he was kind of in my way when I was heading to the socks. That was a bother. 

I know my celebrity sighting quota is not very big, but I think it’s pretty good for a small town Ohio girl. And, I am going to see Justin Timberlake in concert in two weeks, so that’s a pretty big deal. 

Alright, now I am going to go tuck myself in bed. I need to be fresh for Monday morning!

Leave a Reply

