This post comes a little too late.

On October 26, 2007, Danny and I started dating. Our path to dating was a long one, filled with 10 months of confusing friendship, awkward conversations, and angry facebook messages. But, that path strengthened our relationship and made us a better couple. And, now, almost seven years after our first date, six years after our official coupledom, and almost four and a half years of marriage, I think we made the right decision. 

Here we are on our first Halloween together. 

image

We were Jim and Pam, obviously. 

Sometimes, I look at Danny, and I can’t remember a time when we weren’t together. Sometimes, I look at him and feel like we just met. Marriage is funny like that. 

How have we changed from those fresh-faced little kids who were so silly and ridiculous? For one, we are better looking now. 

image

Secondly, I am less observant now. True story—Danny bought a pumpkin and put it on our porch last week, and I didn’t notice it until today. 

Thirdly, we are much better at writing love notes these days. And by better, I mean that Danny actually writes some to me. In college, I used to send him all sorts of things in the mail, but I never got anything back. These days, though, Danny has given me plenty of fun cards. 

Fourthly, Danny wears vests now, and I couldn’t be more happy about that. 

And finally, now, we are more united and in love than I ever thought possible. 

It has been a wild ride since October of 2007, but I think I picked a pretty good co-pilot with whom to share the ride. 

Leave a Reply

