Dreaming Days

Do you ever have one of those days where you are dreaming and wishing all day? A day where you build a wonderful fantasy land in your head, and when you finally rouse from your dreams, you are shocked by your surroundings? I have had one of those days. I keep dreaming and pretending, and then, I am astounded to notice clutter and dirty dishes in the house. It’s a little disheartening.

Today, in my dream world, it has been fall,and I am able to crunch falling leaves under my heels. I am piled high in a knitted scarf, and Danny is drinking a pumpkin spice latte. We are adventuring in small shops, gathering art and Christmas surprises. We are scavenging through dusty bookstores and buying Michael Jackson records. Danny is wearing soft flannel and his knitted hat. And, I am alternating between sips if coke from a glass bottle and a vanilla milkshake.

It’s been wonderful.

There’s something abou he beginning of the school year that immediately makes me want to transport to October and November. I may just have to burn some fall candles to stay patient.

Leave a Reply

