Falling in love with Fall

Today was a perfect fall day. The weather was brisk and a little bit rainy, and I was able to wear a sweater. I felt energized and excited all day. I wanted to read ghost stories, sit by a bonfire, and drink cider. 

And, I want to play soccer so bad. I want to feel the wind hitting my face, and I want to run as fast as I can. I want to feel like I am a part of a team, and I want to feel a soccer ball hitting my cleats. 

Fall is my favorite season, but it is also really bittersweet. I feel like I don’t know how to move on and not be a soccer player anymore. It was a big part of my identity for so long—I still don’t know how to exist without it. I feel as if a big part of who I am is dormant. 

Maybe I will just jump in the middle of a game. We’ll see what I can find. 

Leave a Reply

